Domain(s) Made Easy

A simple explination of the domain level.

What is a Domain?



is the highest taxonomic rank of organisms in the three-domain system of taxonomy.


What are the Domains in Taxonomy?

The three domains in taxonomy are Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukaryota.

Bacteria and Archaea are both Prokaryotic organisms. This means they have no true nucleus.

Eukaryota contains all other organisms on earth.


Check out the Domains!


Bacteria, Archaea, and Eukaryota



There are two Domains of Prokaryotes and one domain of Eukaryots.
The Bacteria and Archaea are more primative, mostly single celled organisms that do not have a membrane bound nucleus.
All of the other organsims on the planet fall into the third domain Eukaryota.